GNA University



Attend an

Information Session

Apply for


Find out more

Visit GNA


The University Grants Commission vide its letter no F.1-16/2007 (CPP-II) dated June 17, 2009 has reiterated the ban on ragging of students in Institutions of Higher Learning. The students are therefore directed to strictly desist from any kind of ragging. Forms of Ragging: Display of noisy, disorderly conduct, teasing, excitement by rough or rude treatment or handling, including rowdy, undisciplined activities which cause or likely to cause annoyance, undue hardship, physical or psychological harm or raise apprehensive fear in a fresher, or asking the students to do any act or perform something which such a student will not do in the ordinary course and which causes him/her shame or embarrassment or danger to his/her life, etc.

Participation in/or Abetment of Ragging at GU may lead to  :

  • Cancellation of admission.
  • Suspension from attending classes.
  • Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits.
  • Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process.
  • Withholding results.
  • Debarring  from  representing  the  institution  in  any  national  or  international  meet, tournament, youth festival, etc.
  • Suspension/expulsion from the hostel
  • Rustication  from  the  institution  for  periods  varying  from  1  to  4  semesters  or equivalent period.
  • Expulsion  from  the  institution  and  consequent  debarring  from  admission  to  any other institution.
  • Fine up to Rs. 25,000/-


In the event of ragging, a student may contact Dean/Director, Students Welfare and may also email at or call at 01824–504999.

National Anti Ragging Help Line (UGC Crisis Hotline) 24×7 Toll Free Number* 1800-180-5522 (

Anti Ragging Committee

Sr. No. Name Designation Status in Commitee
1. Dr. Prem Kumar Vice-Chancellor Chair Person
2. Mr. Sukhdev Singh (Representative of civil and Police administration) SHO, Rawalpindi Member
3. Mr.Vikram Jalota (Representative of local Media) Press Reporter,Punjab Kesari Member
4. Mr.Vikram Jalota (Representative of NGO) Vacant Member
5. Dr. Disha Khanna (Representative of Faculty Members) Associate Professor Member
6. C.R. Tripathy (Representative of Faculty Members) Dean, FDI Member
7. Mr. Sandeep Puri (Representative of Parents) Parent of Student Member
8. Mr. Narinder Kanda (Representative of Parents) Parent of Student Member
9. Mr. Shubhum Sharma (Representative of Fresher Student) Student of MBA, Semester first Member
10. Guntas (Representative of Senior Student) Student of B.Sc HM, Semester fifth Member
11. Mr. Amandeep Sharma(Representative of Non Teaching Staff) Hostel Warden Member

Anti Ragging Squad

Sr. No. Name Designation Status in Commitee
1. Mr. Sushil Sharma Dean, Faculty of Film,Tv and Media Chair Person
2. Mr. Anuranjan Sharda Associate Professor,Faculty of Engineering & Technology Member
3. Dr. Abhineet Goyal Assistant Professor,Faculty of Natural Science Member
4. Dr.GBG Shashi, Kartikeya Tiwari Associate Professor,Faculty of Hospitality Member
6. Dr. Neeraj Punni Assistant Professor,Faculty of Natural Science Member
7. Col. Jagjit Singh Chief Administrative Officer Member
8. Mr. Amandeep Sharma(Representative of Non Teaching Staff) Hostel Warden Member